“Desire Vs Destiny”(Moral behind the story of an aspirant)

People succeed for a thousand different reasons, but the one thing they all have in common is “Desire”. Success begin with a burning desire that pushes through all failures to achieve goal. As long as the desire is burning, there’s always fuel to keep it going, for desire determines”Destiny”. This is the factor to not to give up. It lay emphasize on keep going untill the destiny is achieved.

Desire is a strong feeling of wanting to have something or wishing something to happen. Thoman hobbes asserted that human desire is the fundamental motivation of all human action. While the destiny is something that is to happen or has to  happened to a particular person or thing; lot or fortunate. (Or) The predetermined, usually inevitable or irresistible, course of event.

Here I’m telling you the journey of an IAS Aspirant in her own words, “i shut my eyes tightly, entering my roll number through keyboard. It seemed as world had paused for a moment. I could hear nothing other than my beating heart. I could see the entire of my past two years in front of me, and the outcome of it was just about to be declared. Well, there’s always a difference between what we want and what we actually get. So often we are led into situations which we had never thought of being in. I stood there still staring at the screen.”Is it all over? Can’t it just be some mistake? Checked again but it read the same. It was my fourth attempt.

I had cracked prelims exam of PCS at my very beginning of aspirant journey, right after bachelor degree. Which showed my potential to be sent to prepare for UPSC. I had send to the hub of UPSC aspirants. It was great place and environment for studies and students. They were no less than me, so many of them being better than me. The place taught me how it feels living alone, catering to the vital needs of life and feeling world, all my own. I learnt how to implement the values that my parents had been telling me about all this while, choosing between right and wrong, as there was no one to check me or guide me. All i was with my own self.

Two years passed and after having appeared for UPSC examination along with state PCS, the time had come for the result to be declared. The day arrived as any other day and passed by me as swiftly, bringing me no good news. But still i had faith as my family had. That day i learnt another thing, “Life has it’s own way for everything. We do not get things as per our wish but as per our need and may be life is at its bet in deciding that.”I had seen how phases change, and how life fluctuates between Success and Failure.


A new chapter of my life was going to begin. In the war between desires and destiny, one would win and the other would lose, but none could take away what I’d learnt in the process. At the end, it was not a failure, but a new phase of challenges I was to come across and yes, I was seasoned enough to face them. It would be foolish to say that I was no more afraid of failures, but this experience surely taught me that they were as important part of life as Success was.

Don’t see what others do, because you are different.
Don’t follow others’ path, but carve your own.
Don’t just follow them, but learn to lead them.
Don’t lose yourself in them; let them find themselves in you.
Don’t just let it off, but play your part well. 
Let the world know your existence.
Let the world cherish your dreams.
Let the world honour your name.
Let the world owe you what you deserve.”


Leave a Reply

